Te Ahu o te Reo – Te Reo Māori course


About Te Ahu o te Reo Māori

Te Ahu o Te Reo Māori are Māori language courses funded by the Ministry of Education to support kaiako across the education section to build their te reo Māori skills and confidence.  Playcentre Education ākonga learners who have completed any level of Te Ahu o Te Reo Māori can apply for recognition of prior learning (RPL) towards PE4 Te Kākano – Te Reo me Ona Tikanga Māori. Contact the Education Team for more details

Te Ahu o te Reo Māori courses are available in ten locations across Aotearoa, with a wide range of levels from beginners to advanced. These classes are free to attend and are a mixture of online and kanohi ki te kanohi (face to face).

Kia horapa te reo ki te motu – Spreading the language across the country

Te Ahu o te Reo Māori means the future pathway of te reo Māori – a pathway that seeks to inspire improved te reo Māori proficiency, acquisition and use across the education sector. It also provides opportunities for te reo Māori to be normalised, and Māori identity and culture to be shared and embraced.

The initiative aims to support early learning to secondary school leaders, kaiako and support staff to grow their capability and confidence in using and integrating te reo Māori into the learning of all ākonga. Participants will have the opportunity to engage and understand a different worldview; engage in cultural practices, narratives, and histories relevant to Aotearoa and to the system that supports the education of all students.

Based on a seven level te reo Māori competency framework called Ngā Taumata o Te Ahu o te Reo Māori, the five focus areas are:

  • Local dialect – local words, phrases, karakia, waiata and sayings
  • Use – Practise of reo use appropriate for a classroom setting
  • Grammar – foundations of grammar and writing conventions
  • Curriculum – development of learning content for regular activity
  • Revitalisation – language planning for the school/ early learning services/ classroom.

Te Ahu o te Reo Māori is available across all 10 Ministry of Education regions: Tai Tokerau, Auckland, Waikato, Bay of Plenty/ Waiariki, Taranaki/ Manawatu/ Whanganui, Hawke’s Bay/ Tairāwhiti, Wellington, Nelson/ Marlborough/ West Coast, Canterbury/ Chatham Islands and Otago/ Southland.

Te Ahu o te Reo Māori aims to grow and strengthen an education workforce that can integrate te reo Māori into the learning of all ākonga in Aotearoa.

To learn more click here


Please note:

Once on Te Ahu o te Reo Māori registration page, click on red ‘MORE INFO‘ buttons to get the English translations. And scroll to the bottom of the page to find providers for your region.